Something to consider: Financial mismanagement at the cost of survival

In the beautiful and revelatory situation we find ourselves in - People in the first world can almost guarantee themselves food/water/shelter, The internet allows instant communication to 3 billion people and access to MOST of our collective knowledge, Money is easier than ever to acquire - there exists still many disparaging examples of lackluster thinking.
One of these examples I would like to point to is the spending of Governments worldwide.
Now before we get too far, I want to say - I am not an expert. I have read a few articles and checked out plenty of interviews with the people who find or think of this stuff but as a Human being involved directly with most going ons in the world today, my voice actually matters. Our voices matter and our perspectives on the decisions made FOR the collective by representatives, MATTERS.
So getting on with it. Some startling numbers to consider:

Now I use the numbers of the US for one reason, they spend the most. Whether or not there is a responsibility for the US to solve these problems with more progressive spending, the facts stand to epitomise, if in a general and singular sense, the lackluster thinking I was referring to. Imagine, for a second, Thirteen thousand more educated kids guaranteed. Knowing, for those who don't experience it, that no one is going hungry through lack of trying and being in that situation, I can ONLY imagine how relieving that would be. Just think about it.

The next numbers fact I would like to discuss is our own, the public miss spendings - Australian's spend $14.1B on Alcohol a year.